History of the Board

The Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education, Hyderabad is one of the oldest boards which was established under West Pakistan Ordinance 1961. Since its establishment, there had been a number of Ordinances/Acts for effective functioning of the Board. Prior to establishment of the Board, the University of Sindh was responsible for conducting matriculation examination under Sindh University Act 1947. Initially, the Board was established in ‘Metharam Hostel’ near to General Post Office, Hyderabad. In the preface of Board’s document titled ‘Decade of Progress (1958-1968), Prof. Ibrahim Shamim, Ex-Chairman of the Board highlighted that due to collective efforts of the Board employees, the Board emerged as ‘powerful education institution’ which assumed responsibility of improving quality of education at secondary and intermediate level in all districts of Sindh excluding Karachi. The Commission on National Education (1958) recommended a two-year intermediate education (Class XI-XII) after matriculation (Class X) and the Board was assigned responsibility of conducting examination at secondary and intermediate level. Thus, the University of Sindh handed over responsibility to the Board for conducting examination of secondary and intermediate education in 1961 under the leadership of Dr G.A. Jafferi, the Founding Chairman of the Board. Mr A.G. Akhund, the then Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs, Government of West Pakistan laid a foundation stone of the purpose-built building on February 24, 1967. The Board moved to its existing building (1.75 acres) on December 26, 1967. However, the building was formally inaugurated by Mr Malik Abdul Latif Khan, the then Secretary of Ministry of Education on September 3, 1968. The existing building consists of three floors with additional facilities such as library, auditorium etc. The Board constructed its sports stadium (over 8 acres) in Latifabad Unit 6, Hyderabad to provide maximum sports facilities for students. The Board also constructed Chairperson residence to provide him/her accommodation with maximum residential facilities. The Board also constructed a youth hostel for providing accommodation for students from various education institutions across the country to participate in the annual sports activities. The Board has planned to further refurbish sports stadium and youth hostel. With considerable expansion in schools and colleges, the Government of Sindh created additional three education boards which included Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education Mirpurkhas, Larkana and Sukkur. Currently, the Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education, Hyderabad conducts its secondary and intermediate examination in ten (10) districts. These include; Hyderabad, Jamshoro, Matiari, Dadu, Tando Allahyar, Saheed Benazirabad, Tando Muhammad Khan, Thatta, Sujawal and Badin. The Board has produced a large number of alumni which included educationists, researchers, politicians, heads of State, parliamentarians, judges, lawyers, engineers, civil servants, scientists, human right activists, philanthropists, social reformers, poets, writers, scholars, economists, historians, archeologists, architects, industrialists, agriculturalists and others.